Well said.

I showed up sick to Bali (as mentioned in my last post), fortunately it didn’t last too long and within a day I was feeling back to “normal”. But normal still wasn’t very good. Still tired, ear infected and feeling downright out of it and done with it all.

I was in Kuta of all places, and it’s a nightmare of a place at the best of times, filled with the worst of all travelers excesses, day-glo mushroom bars, drunken teens, t-shirts and bumper stickers loudly proclaiming that so and so is a fag, or sucks dick, or worse. The local people constantly yelling at you to come into their shops to buy this crap (what must they think of us?) or clamoring to provide transport, transport, transport.  To be dealing with this in my state of mind was appalling, yet it took me 4 days to muster up enough energy to get myself the hell out of Dodge.

I spent my time there either reading a book on the beach, trying to ignore the frenetic posturings of hyperactive/drunk kids or walking around looking for photos opportunities and graffiti. Also finally, planning ahead for a change and making reservations on Nusa Lembongan, for what I hope will be an entire week of relaxation and restoration of my body and soul. But first, I need to get out of Kuta.

Construction heads.

Afternoon blues.

Bali Demon.

