June 19 – 21

Melaka is to be my last stop in mainland Malaysia before I head into Sumatra Indonesia. It’s a quaint little town and I enjoy wandering through it. I get my hair cut, desperately needed, and meander into Chinatown.

Image

While I am walking I meet a trishaw driver who is shining up all the metal he has decorated his ride with, he lets me take his picture, what a smile.

Image

I find some lunch at a little hole in the wall and watch as 3 Malaysian guys work their way through a bottle of Jack Daniels, then they start on the beer. They start chatting with me and insist I join them, I do and for a while I manage to convince them that I don’t drink before nightfall but eventually they wear me down and I agree to a beer.  I sit with them and chat for a while they are pretty drunk so it’s mildly entertaining when they all ask me the same questions again and again. It turns out that one of them is the manager of a temple just down the road (Richard) and he agrees to give me a tour. One of the guys heads home (to nap I assume) and the other, who has taken a bit of a shine to me, insists on bringing his car down to the temple. He seems to think that I am going to go out for dinner with him, I’m not sure why as I haven’t agreed to it and when I tell him that I won’t get in a car with a drunk person he calls his driver to come and join us, I still have no intention of going anywhere with this guy and start to try to think of the best way to be rid of him. Meanwhile I am getting a personalized tour of the temple from Richard (who insists that he take my picture many times, in front of everything), it’s quite beautiful and the history is interesting but I am a little distracted by the Malaysian guido who’s breathing down my neck.

Image

Eventually the tour ends and I thank Richard for showing me around, My guido friend is all impatient and says ok we can go now. Finally I just flat out tell him that I’m not joining him but make vague promises to call him later in the evening, so he gives me his phone number. As he drives off, having dismissed his driver, I see two guys (tourists) coming towards me, they hear me laughing so I tell them what’s gone down. They had seen me in the temple and noticed the letch as well and are pretty amused with my story. I join them and we roam through the town for a little longer.

Image

Image

We meet another girl and I convince everyone to go come out for Indian food with me, it wasn’t hard. We had a delicious feast, happy all round and then headed down riverside for a few beers to cap off the evening. All in all a great last day in Malaysia.

Image

