Originally posted on facebook –  March 15, 2009. ·

That dress I bought didn’t work out so well, too big and it was strapless so kept slipping down, not dangerously so but enough to be annoying. also I didn’t notice when i bought it but it was polyester on the inside, yuck! I will try to find someone who wants it, maybe a trade so I don’t have to cart it around with me. I should have known better then to buy it without trying it on, live and learn….

I certainly wouldn’t call myself a seasoned traveler yet but I am learning to sit back and let things happen more easily, not forcing. also to take the time to observe a situation before I jump (eg: finding a cab at the airport when surrounded by pushy drivers all trying to get me to take a ride with them) trying to stay calm allows me to be able to think in Spanish (what little I remember from my one year of it in high school) a little better and I am trying to be more patient and remember to be accepting of “Costa Rica time” I do well unless I’m really hungry, then I want my food NOW!!!! 🙂

I must share my idea for a palm salad recipe, it is so good and so easy, just lettuce, avocado, tomato and heart of palm which you buy ready made in a jar, the key will be to making a good salad dressing, I think a pesto based one would be amazing, but salad dressing are not my strong suit, still I will try once I am home.

Today I went with an American nurse from San Diego named Mandi to a wildlife reserve in Cutu, (about an hour and 25mins by bus) we saw white faced and howler monkeys free in the wild and I got some good pics (quite proud of this one actually). Howler monkeys make a sound like a dog barking and a loud growl, pretty cool, there are a lot of them (and the white faced) here in Montezuma as well but they are harder to see (at least so far).

.Image

We also saw some spider monkeys that are being rehabbed to be released back to the wild, they were in a pen but it was pretty nice and large as far as pens go. One of them (a female) came right up to us at the face and put her hand through the fencing, she wanted us to hold her hand and we did, it was so incredible, I almost broke down in tears. she and I looked into each others eyes for a time and she was so wise looking, her eyes were a beautiful deep shade of brown and you could see her intelligence, it broke my heart. I thought she seemed sad, but I don’t know if she was really, how can you know what is going on in a monkeys head? Her hands were so soft (much more then I imagined they would be) with longish black fingernails and on the underside of her tail there was the same sort of skin as her hands. She turned her back against the wire and let us rub and scratch her. Her fur was coarser and thicker then I thought it would be. It was an amazing moment I know I will never ever forget. And yes I have a picture of this as well.

Image

Some people that I had met left today, some new ones arrived. I’m beginning to see that saying goodbye will be something I have to get used to. When Mandi and I got back to town from Cutu I ran into the 2 girls from Sweden that I had met at the airport when I arrived. In the moment I was desperate for a pee and a shower so I said a quick hello, We know where each other are staying so I will try to find them again tomorrow.

Speaking of tomorrow, I finally start school, my first Spanish class (beginners level 1) is at 12-2pm and the Spanish lab (all levels, where we practice speaking what we have learned) is from 4-6. from 6:30-8pm I have yoga, so the 4 extra days I gave myself before starting everything, “my vacation” is kinda over, lol.

I found a woman who does shiatsu down here. I got my first one yesterday and she is amazing, she doesn’t really speak much English at all but she is very intuitive and did an amazing job, I would put her up there with Kat! (sorry Kat!, forgive me?) later int he day a few of us went up to the closest waterfall for a refreshing dip. so nice!

I feel like I am settling in here, for the first few days I felt antsy and like I wanted to move on, now I feel quite content and excited about the learning I get to do over the next couple of weeks.

