Originally posted on facebook – March 13, 2009.

After years of delaying I have finally set out on this adventure. I’m heading to Costa Rica for 5 weeks. I haven’t backpacked since I was 19 years old and am now 36 and scared witless. I have ended my relationship, sold my condo, put everything in storage and taken a leave of absence from work, I’m ready to go. I’ve planned it out and will spend the first half of my time in Montezuma, studying Spanish and practicing yoga. From there I’ll probably head over to the east coast to explore a little before I head back home to real life.

These will be quick random things that happen in my days, maybe will get to longer posts but not sure…

I went into a small local town today called Cobano, I took the bus and spent and hour in the bank. my debit card wouldn’t work in the machine so I had to do a visa transfer, the teller at the bank told me that my debit card will probably work in another little town about a half hour away called Santa Teresa, I will try going there next week sometime. I forgot how high security banks are down here, the security guys were all holding shotguns and I had to pass through a metal detector on the way in, sunglasses off and they looked inside my bag. friendly enough though. I’d forgotten how you are supposed to take a number and sit in the chairs waiting, so glad my mom and I had visited a bank in La Paz, Mexico when we went there so I had at least done it once before! I wandered around the town a little bit and bought a nice aqua coloured sundress, am wishing I brought less shorts/shirts and more dresses/skirts as they are soooo much cooler, so I am stocking up, hope everything fits in my backpack when I’m ready to move on! I shared a cab back to Montezuma with some people I met so it only cost 4 bucks….yes the bus is only 60 cents but wasn’t due to arrive for another hour so I splurged. Funny thing….on the bus on the way to Cobano there is a very big hill with hairpin turns, the road is very dry and sandy/dusty. we couldn’t make it up the hill so the driver shouted out something and everybody stood up, I thought we were going to get off the bus and have to climb up the hill but he had us all move to the back seats and then we made it! 🙂 I tried heart of palm today in a salad with avocado, tomato and green olives, so yummy, I think it may be favorite new food!

fyi, i have been lucky enough to meet people who have their own computers so I have been able to use them thus far, not sure how long this will continue so I may not be able to post so easily (or cheaply) once they leave. I will have to use the internet cafe $$$!!!

